139th Session of the Diocesan Synod of Fredericton 2 November 2024 Summary of Business

Motion 2024-01 - Amendment of Canon Four (lay members of the Finance Committee)

Carried

Motion 2024-02 - Amendment of Canon Four (reference to Safe Church)

Carried

Motion 2024-03 - Amendment of Canon Six (timing of parish annual meetings)

Carried

Motion 2024-04 - Financial Flexibility for Local Evangelism

Defeated

Motion 2024-05 - Christ Church Cathedral

Carried after friendly amendment to remove original point d. (*Our concern over possible changes in its ownership structure;*)

Acceptance of the Final Report of the Task Force on Racial Justice

Accepted and will be considered by Diocesan Council for action.

Acceptance of Archdeaconry Elections to Diocesan Council

The following have been elected as archdeaconry representatives on Diocesan Council:

Chatham The Rev. Canon Gerald Laskey (Derby and Blackville)

Ms. Laura McNulty (New Bandon)

Fredericton The Rev. Neil Osiowy (Ludlow and Blissfield)

Ms. Nancy Stephens (Douglas and Nashwaaksis)

Kingston and Mr. Connor DeMerchant (Kingston)

the Kennebecasis The Rev. Robert Montgomery (Gondola Point)

Moncton Mr. Michael Briggs (the Six Saints)

The Rev. Julian Pillay (Riverview)

Saint John The Rev. Terence Chandra (St. Mark, SJ)

Mr. Trevor Fotheringham (Fundy and the Lakes)

St. Andrews Mr. Tony Munn (Pennfield)

The Rev. Caleb Twinamatsiko (Pennfield)

Woodstock The Rev. Harold Boomer (Andover and Denmark)

No lay person elected

Election of General and Provincial Synod Delegates

General Synod (2025)

The Ven. Leo Martin

The Ven. John Matheson

The Rev. Julian Pillay

Mr. Shawn Branch

Mr. David Bell

Ms. Nancy Stephens

Ms. Rochelle Young (youth)

The Rev Maria Shepherdson (alternate)

The Rev. Paul Gwese (alternate)

Mr. Ken Brien (alternate)

Provincial Synod (2027)

The Rev. Julian Pillay

The Rev Maria Shepherdson

The Rev. Paul Gwese (alternate)

No lay delegates offered