

# THE DIOCESAN SYNOD OF FREDERICTON

115 CHURCH STREET, FREDERICTON NB E3B 4C8 (506) 459 1801 [o] (506) 460 0520 [f]

Adopted 7 November 2015

# MINUTES OF THE 133<sup>rd</sup> SESSION OF THE DIOCESAN SYNOD OF FREDERICTON Electoral Synod

10 May 2014
The Right Reverend Percy Coffin, Presiding Bishop
Christ Church (Parish) Church
Fredericton, N.B.

Members of the 133<sup>rd</sup> Session of the Diocesan Synod (electoral) gathered at Christ Church (Parish) Church for the purpose of electing a Co-Adjutor Bishop. Registration began at 8:30 am.

A Celebration of Holy Eucharist was led by the Right Reverend Percy Coffin, Bishop of Western Newfoundland, assisted by the VenerableGeoffrey Hall and the Reverend Deacon Joyce Perry.

# CALL TO ORDER

The Chancellor of the Diocese, Mr. Clyde Spinney, officially called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m. welcoming everyone to this Electoral Synod.

# REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

The Chair of the Credentials Committee, Mr Ashley Sobey, reported out of 108 eligible clergy members, 89 had registered; and our of 243 eligible lay members, 226 were registered. (The lay registrations represented a corrected number provided later in the meeting.) In addition, 8 guests, 7 observers and 21 volunteers were also present.

The Presiding Bishop declared quorum had been achieved and Synod was now in session.

# **VOTING PROCEDURE**

The Chancellor explained the voting procedures for this Electoral Synod by drawing everyone's attention to the printed material

MOTION 133-01: R Hebb/ T. Nesbitt

That the Voting Procedures as printed and given to all members of Synod be accepted for this Electoral Synod.

Motion carried.

### **RULES OF ORDER AND DECORUM**

- Cell phones and electronic devices are to be turned off until the conclusion of
- No publishing of results until the conclusion of Synod
- Green ballots are for lay members
- Blue ballots are for clergy members
- A Prayer Room has been set in St. Anne's Chapel
- During the voting, members asked to remain seated for the collection of votes
- The organist will signal members when to return to their seats for voting results

# PRESENTATION OF CANDIDATES

The Presiding Bishop listed the candidates alphabetically asking each one to stand:

- The Reverend Canon Eric Beresford
- The Venerable David Edwards
- The Reverend Canon Keith Osborne
- The Reverend Brian Spence
- The Reverend Chris VanBuskirk
- The Reverend John Paul Westin

# **MEDITATION**

Bishop Coffin offered a meditation on the qualities of a Bishop, listing Scriptural references and remindingthat we all have our own ideas and expectations. He cautioned those gathered that everyone has strengths and weaknesses, gifts and shortcomings. He stressed the importance of prayer in this task.

#### BALLOT # 1

A two minute period of silent prayer was followed by the collection of votes cast and the singing of the hymn: All Praise To Thee.

No candidate received the required number of votes and all received the canonical minimum of votes to remain on the second ballot.

# **MEDITATION**

Bishop Coffin offered a 2<sup>nd</sup> meditation on the topic of selecting a new Bishop using the reference in the Book of Acts where the apostles were asked to chose a replacement for Judas Iscariot between Matthias and Justus.

## BALLOT # 2

A two minute period of silent prayer was followed by the collection of votes cast and the singing of the hymn: Jesus Calls Us.

Bishop Coffin offered a prayer of thanks for lunch. Synod broke for lunch at 12:20pm

Synod reconvened at 1:25 pm

No candidate received the required number of votes for election. The Reverend Brian Spence was removed from the ballot according to Canon Three, subsection 5(4).

## **MEDITATION**

In his third meditation, Bishop Coffin spoke of a different world in which we live, recognizing the playing field has somewhat shifted. Yet, a Bishop still remains a leader in the proclammation of the Gospel and in mission.

#### BALLOT # 3

Prior to the call of the 3<sup>rd</sup> ballot, the Reverend Chris VanBuskirk and the Reverend Canon Keith Osborne withdrew their names from the ballot in accordance with Canon Three, subsection5(6).

A two minute period of silent prayer was followed by the collection of votes cast and the singing of the hymn: Crown Him with Many Crowns.

No candidate received the required number of votes and all received the canonical minimum of votes to stay on the fourth ballot.

After seeking the permission of Synod to speak, the Reverend Canon Eric Beresford withdrew his name from the ballot.

#### Meditation

Bishop Coffin offered a fourth meditation whereby he shared how Jesus relates to his own sense of mission following his baptism in the River Jordan.

A two minute period of silent prayer was followed by the collection of votes cast and the singing of the hymn: Breathe On Me, Breath Of God.

Having received a two thirds majority in both houses of Synod, the Venerable David Edwards was elected as Co-Adjutor Bishop of the Diocese of Fredericton.

Synod members signalled their approval with a round of applause.

The Bishop-elect offered thanks to God and to Synod members for the privilege of serving them in this role. He also thanked all those who allowed teir names to be nominated, stating he is looking forward to growing together, and always making sure we are aligned with Christ.

# **EXPRESSIONS OF THANKS**

Bishop Coffin extended thanks to all those who had a role to play in the organizing and execution of this Electoral Synod. He also offered thanks to Archbishop Miller for his guidance of the past few years.

#### **CLOSING**

The hymn Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah was sung followed by a blessing from the Metropolitan, the Most Reverend Claude Miller.

# <u>Adjournment</u>

Motion 133-02 - W Morton

That this session of the 133<sup>rd</sup> Synod of the Diocese of Fredericton be adjourned.

Motion carried.

The Venerable Geoffrey Hall Secretary of Synod

The Reverend Canon Leo Martin Recording Secretary

16 May 2014 Appendix 1: Ballot results

Nominee	Ballot #1		Ballot #2		Ballot #3		Ballot #4		
	Clergy	Laity	Clergy	Laity	Clergy	Laity	Clergy	Laity	
Ballots Cast	86	226	87	226	86	226	86	226	
Spoiled									
Required to elect	58	151	58	151	58	151	58	151	
Beresford, Eric	10	22	5	12	4 10 withdrawn		drawn		
Edwards, David	38	106	51	125	57	166	66	176	
Osborne, Keith	5	13	2	8	withdrawn		withdrawn		
Spence, Brian	5	8	2	3	Did not meet requirements Di		Did not meet	Did not meet requirements	
VanBuskirk, Chris	14	42	15	48	withdrawn		withdrawn		
Westin, John Paul	14	35	12	30	25	50	20	50	
Time at the start of Ballot	11:30	11:30 a.m.		12:15 p.m.		1:45 p.m.		2:17 p.m.	
Time results were given Noon	No	Noon		1:30 p.m.		2:02 p.m.		2:30 p.m.	

Appendix 1: Ballot results