Signing Authority in the Diocese of Fredericton

CANON FIVE - DIOCESAN BUSINESS

3 Diocesan Signing Authority

- 3(1) The Bishop and the Secretary of the Synod shall sign all documents that are required to be executed under the seal of the Diocesan Synod but at the Bishop's direction the Bishop's Commissary may sign in place of the Bishop and the Assistant Secretary of the Synod may sign in place of the Secretary.
- 3(2) Cheques and other money instruments issued by the Synod shall be signed by any two of the Bishop, the Treasurer of the Synod, the Assistant Treasurer of the Synod, the Secretary of the Synod, the Bishop's Commissary and a diocesan officer or member of the Synod staff designated by the Diocesan Council.

CANON SIX - PARISH GOVERNANCE

10 Signing Authority

- 10(1) The Incumbent and the Vestry Clerk, or, if the office of Incumbent is vacant or the Incumbent is on leave, the Church Wardens and the Vestry Clerk, shall sign all documents that are required to be executed under the seal of the Parish Corporation.
- 10(2) Cheques and other money instruments issued by the Parish Corporation shall be signed by any two of the Parish Treasurer, the Incumbent and a Church Warden.

 Where this requirement is impractical, such instruments may be signed by any two of four voting members of the Parish chosen for that purpose at the Annual Meeting.
- 10(3) The Parish Treasurer, with the approval of the Parish Corporation, may establish electronic banking protocols with the Parish's banking institution to facilitate the automated payment of recurring bills.